A Texas Conduct Bond is required for all retailers who do not hold a Food and Beverage Certificate. The bond guarantees the retailer will abide by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) code and all rules and state laws regarding alcoholic beverages.
The amount of the conduct bond is determined by the distance to a public school. If the location is over 1,000 feet from a public school, the bond amount will be $5,000. If the location is less than 1,000 feet from a public school, the bond amount will be $10,000.
A Texas Alcoholic Beverage Performance Bond, a similar bond, is required in Bexar, Dallas, Harris and Tarrant Counties for holders of a Beer Retailer On Premise License or a Wine and Beer Retailer Permit who do not hold a Food and Beverage Certificate.
The initial Texas Conduct Bond amount is $2,000.